Climate South Africa

Climate Southern Africa

South Africa can be divided into three climate zones. In the west the summers are warm and dry and the winters cool and humid. Temperatures between 26 and 28 degrees are reached in summer and between 15 and 20 degrees in winter. From June to September the largest amounts of precipitation fall, mainly in the region around Cape Town with about 600 mm. On the east coast of South Africa the climate is humid and warm. The mean annual temperature in the coastal area is between 21 and 23 degrees and the annual precipitation is around 1000 mm. In the regions around the Kruger National Park and on the coastal sections of Durban, the rainy season lasts from December to March. Inland, precipitation occurs mainly from October to April. In Johannesburg an annual precipitation between 600 and 800 mm is reached and in the western regions of the interior only a value of less than 100 mm. Temperatures rise from east to west, and in summer they reach highs of more than 30 degrees. In winter, however, frost and snow can occur at night.

South Africa can be visited all year round. However, due to the different climate zones there are recommendations for each region. For the northeast and the east coast the months from June to August are particularly suitable. For the Cape region, a travel period from September to April is recommended. Safaris are best observed from July to October.


Scroll to top